Edit Development version of Workbook then merge/update Production version

  • Describe Feature
    I would like to be able to edit and save changes to a development version of a workbook while users continue to use the production version.

  • What is the use case?
    From a published workbook, select option to open in development. Save changes in development workbook. Changes are not reflected in production version until development version is published to merge changes. Bookmarks to production workbook would be preserved for end user convenience.

  • How often would this feature be used?
    Frequently, especially during beta/UA phase of workbook

  • What is the impact of this feature on your organization?
    The only workaround is to use Save as, then delete or move the old version which breaks bookmarks. Saving link to draft may also work, but seems prone to error/failure and creates issues for collaboration if multiple draft forks are created.

+1 to add this feature, it would really help to simplify the workflow of change releases

1 Like